Happy Release Day to Author Matt Melillo! Let’s Give Him a Shout Out!

castons_revenge_front-143x225Please give a warm welcome to Debut Author Matthew Melillo! Matt, I’m so excited to have you here to talk about your release Caston’s Revenge. This book is out today! Happy Release Day!

I am truly honored to be here and have this opportunity.

This is your first book published, true? How exciting! What does this accomplishment mean to you?

Yes, this is my first book. It is a dream come true to finally be here after many years of trying to find an avenue to pursue my dreams of being a writer. And now, I not only have one book coming out, but two more as well. It is surreal.

Tell us about your journey to publication.

It took me, on and off, four years to complete my first book. I was constantly going back and forth, reading it, and changing it. It was painful for years, receiving letters stating that this was not the type of book they were wanting to publish. My family stood behind me and kept encouraging me to continue writing. While shopping that book around, I did continue writing and completed two other books.

What would you say has surprised you most about the publishing business?

How difficult it is to get published. Once you find a place, it’s a whirlwind of what to do next. It has also been an incredible learning experience working with the editors who taught me so much more about writing and to help me grow.

What is your book about? What inspired this story?

Caston’s Revenge is a unique story about revenge. The main character, Max Caston, returns home from war after being wounded. When he returns, he finds out his wife is legally pursuing a high-profile crime boss. Just before going to trial, there is a home invasion where Max and his family are left for dead. With the help of two close friends from the Army, Max begins to rebuild his life until he sees one of the home invaders at a televised press conference for the man his wife was trying to put behind bars. This sets Max on a path for justice. And the deeper he goes to find out who is behind it, the worse it turns out to be.

What inspired the story was several things. Of course, I took small aspects of my life and incorporated them into the story. But the biggest inspiration was I wanted to write something that, if I was reading, I could picture like watching a movie in a dark movie theater. I wanted it to be something I would want to see. And I hope that comes across to all the readers.

Matt, I couldn’t find much about you online. I would love to know a little more about you. What is a typical day like in your life?

I am married to my beautiful wife, Genny, for 13 years now. We have two boys, Dom and Cody, and my wife is currently pregnant with our third child, poetically, we decided to name Max. My typical day is usually spent at work where I am a finance manager for a large car dealership where I spend anywhere from 8 to 14 hours at work 5 to 7 days a week. When I get home, I try to spend a little time with the boys and my wife and try to squeeze in some writing. But, long-term, I would love to just focus on my writing.

Congratulations on your wife’s pregnancy! What would it surprise your readers to know about you?

Readers may be surprised to know, especially after reading the answer to the last question, that I was a history teacher for several years when I graduated college.

That sure surprises me. Are you working on anything new that you would like to tell us about?

I am currently working on two more books that are in rewrite and editing stages. The first is The Unknown, which is a horror/thriller. The second, which is closest to my heart, is a historical drama The Last Order of the Templars. I am hoping to have them released by the end of this year. Once they are done, I am going to focus my attention on the sequel to Caston’s Revenge, which I plan as a trilogy. I will also work on the second book in the series for The Last Order of the Templars. But, as many readers know, minds are always busy, and, in between, I have a couple of other stories I would love to put to paper as well.

Do you have any links you would like to share so readers can find you online?

On Facebook, this is the link to my page: https://www.facebook.com/matthewmmelillo

And my website, which should be up soon: http://www.mattmelillo.com/

Caston’s Revenge is now available on Amazon.com. Here is a direct link:

http://www.amazon.com/Castons-Revenge-Matthew-Melillo-ebook/dp/B00ZBCYMYM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1433951122&sr=8-1&keywords=Caston%27s+Revenge

Here is a blurb:

Max Caston is a soldier wounded in Iraq. After he returns home, he learns his wife, an assistant district attorney, is attempting to bring down a major crime boss. Unfortunately, a home invasion leaves Max for dead, and his family lost.

When the police fail to bring the true criminals to justice, Max, with the help of two of his closest friends, decides to take matters into his own hands. But as he draws closer to his target, he discovers his target is only the beginning.

Do you have a message you would like to share with readers?

I hope when you read Caston’s Revenge you get the same feeling I got when writing it. It is a whirlwind action book that, even though you may think you know what will happen, still surprises you. When reading, I hope you get that feeling as if all you are missing is some popcorn and a coke while you enjoy the movie you imagine.

I would love to encourage anyone that reads my books to please feel free to shoot me an email, post a message or a question on my Facebook about anything, and I promise I will respond to each one. And I encourage anyone that has a goal, no matter how many times you hear no, don’t listen and keep pursuing your dreams. My dream is only beginning, and I am hoping I can continue to produce books that the readers out there will enjoy.

Published in: on June 12, 2015 at 5:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2015/06/12/happy-release-day-to-author-matt-melillo-lets-give-him-a-shout-out/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment