Another Five Minutes

I like to write an introductory poem for my books. I did it for my first published novel. A few readers said it was cool… Their praise made me feel pretty awesome. So, now I do it for every book, you know, because feeling awesome is cool. Here’s the new one for my current work-in-progress. What do you think?


I feel time slipping away.

Will you please, please stay?



Give me five more minutes, please.

I am begging on my knees.



I fear losing you so much.

Promise me at least one last touch.



You belong to me, of course, you know.

And yet, there you go.



The emptiness instantly imprisons me.

Please, my love, return and set me free.



The silence and anxiety echo inside these walls.

With you gone, I am nothing, nothing at all.



My ache churns, my passion fueling hate into flames.

It is torture and death to endure such pain.



Come home so I may breathe again, my love!

Let me show you what we are made of.



One more chance for you is all I give.

Return to me if you want to live.



No other may have you, it's true.

When I die, my darling, so will you.



Five more minutes I delay for your sake.

An eternity it shall be before we wake.



You and I are one soul bound together.

Our love is forever.



Destiny Booze
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2016/08/23/another-five-minutes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

