Review – BRASS IN POCKET by Stephen Puleston

Brass in PocketTwo cops are dead in North Wales. A cryptic message from the killer is left for Detective Inspector Ian Drake. Only one thing is clear. More people are going to die…

 

I had mixed feelings about this book. I loved the final revelations at the end. The mystery came to a satisfying and surprising conclusion. The police investigation felt natural and realistic for the evidence as it was presented.

Unfortunately, I struggled to like the characters. The hero, Ian Drake is obsessive compulsive to the core. He is different and quirky. I usually like quirky, but I found Ian emotionally closed off from those around him in such a way that I was shut out as well. The most I got from him was irritation and frustration by the investigation. Even when at home with his family, he didn’t plug in, so neither did I.

I think I could like Ian a lot. I hope to see him more emotionally invested going forward. I want him to open up so I can get to know him better. I think that will make all the difference in my opinion.

Thank you to the author for giving me such a puzzle with this murder mystery. The pieces came together in a way I never imagined!

 

Published in: on April 8, 2014 at 11:00 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/review-brass-in-pocket-by-stephen-puleston/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Gracias Por Todo. Me encanta de quue manera has propuesto el
    tematica. ¿Me puedes ogrecer bastante mas posteo de el argumento?

    He estado bastante con interes en este idea. Muchas Gracias.


Leave a Reply

