Do you like your writing?

“Easy reading is damn hard writing.” ~ Nathaniel Hawthorne

Being a paid author is one of the most amazing jobs in the whole wide world in my opinion. But, no one said it was easy.

The first step is one of the hardest: writing the book. It takes a lot of focus and dedication to finish a novel. It’s easy to start a book. You have a great idea and you’re super excited to start getting those words to paper. Then, something happens and those words slow way down, or even stop…

Do you find yourself getting bored with what you’re writing? Maybe you should add in a subplot to keep the blood flowing through the pages. Or, maybe that character needs something to make them a bit more interesting, some kind of flaw, or challenge. Sure, it’s more work, but it’s worth it. Let’s face facts…if you get bored writing it, people will get bored reading it.

Enjoy your writing. Love your own work. The rest will follow.

I know writers that say they cringe when they go back and read their books. I hope that never is the case with me. I love my stories. Sure, I see some mistakes. I always notice things I would certainly change if I were to ever rewrite it. But, I love what I’ve done. I’m proud of it. Can you say the same?

That is my hope for all writers out there. I hope you love your writing and I hope you love what you do! Happy writing, friends! 🙂

Published in: on July 1, 2013 at 8:39 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/do-you-like-your-writing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

