Writers, who will motivate you along the way?

I’m no expert, but I have a few thoughts for writers looking for support to get through the truly tough times, and here’s what I’ve discovered. Look within. Build a passion, a fire in your gut that will not let you stop until you achieve the success you are looking for.

Make your dreams come true. Be persistent. Don’t stop. Do this for yourself, because you want it more than anything, and because you deserve it!

I’ve been writing for a long time, but my first book wasn’t published until 2009. I have four books under my belt. In the publishing industry, I’m just a baby, a new author. And, I’m still striving hard to truly break out and become that “overnight success.” Sadly, I can’t say I’ve ever had that one person that has ever truly pushed me in my writing, but that’s okay. I’ve still had myself.

It’s kind of like when you go on a diet. You run into those that try to sabotage your efforts, even if they don’t mean to. With writing, some of the closest people to me never say anything about what I do. There are others that make off-handed comments like what I might do “one day,” as if they are just trying to make me feel better, but don’t honestly believe that I’m succeeding at what I do. There are also those that think everything I read is the best thing they’ve ever read, which I appreciate them saying, but is overexaggerated and doesn’t ring true enough to believe. Then, there are those that are overly critical and find something wrong with everything I write.

All in all – all of my friends – all of my family – everyone that means the world to me, they just don’t understand. Maybe they just don’t want me to get my hopes up, then be disappointed if I don’t succeed. But, sorry, there’s no turning back now. I wish they really did believe I am a success at what I do. Most of them have the best of intentions. I still love them more than anything. But, if I want what it takes to make it in this industry, I’m going to have to do it alone and do it for myself.

Don’t get me wrong. You will find a lot of help along the way. Thank God for that. I’ve learned so much from other writers. There’s also those times when I feel particuarly down and I’ll run into a reader on the street who loved my latest release. There’s no feeling like that in the world!

No one truly makes it alone out here, but there’s only one person that can make this happen for you, and that’s you. So, the question really is: do you want it badly enough?

Published in: on June 20, 2012 at 1:37 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2012/06/20/writers-who-will-motivate-you-along-the-way/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “All in all – all of my friends – all of my family – everyone that means the world to me, they just don’t understand. ” Yeah i get that too. or maybe they are being supportive, but i can see in their faces that they really don’t get it.

    • I think maybe those closest to us are the most worried for us. But, really, it would be nice to have someone in my corner truly believing in me. Nice, but not necessary, because I believe in myself. 🙂


Leave a Reply

