Say Hi to Harlequin Intrigue Author Dana Marton

Dana, welcome to my blog! Thank you so much for stopping by! Before we begin, I have to say I’m a fan and I’m truly honored that you agreed to this interview!

1. Let’s start with having you tell us a little about yourself.

I wrote my first serious poem in 1st grade, however, it took me until 5th grade to get a poem published (with pay!) in our regional newspaper. My early poetry career foreshadowed my fiction career, I’m afraid. 12+ years passed between my first novel (a historical romance set in Ancient Egypt) and SHADOW SOLDIER, the romantic suspense that Harlequin Intrigue published a couple of years ago. I’m not one for giving up on anything! I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or I’m just too stupid to know when to quit! I LOVE writing. And when I’m not writing, I’m usually reading. I would write even if nobody paid me for it, as I have for 12 years while waiting for publication. I don’t know if every person on Earth has a calling, but I definitely know that writing is mine. I’m so grateful that I’m able to make a living at it. I was a very frustrated corporate worker before this, believe me. πŸ™‚

2. Yes, the key to success in this business is persistence, and you are indeed successful. You’re published with Harlequin Intrigue. For those that do not know, Harlequin is one of the top print publishing companies in romance. How long have you been with them? How many titles have you published through them?

My first Intrigue, SHADOW SOLDIER, came out in 2004 (and will be republished next year, yay!). My most recent title, THE SPY WHO SAVED CHRISTMAS, just came out, and that is my 24th book with Intrigue. I have 3 more sold to them that are scheduled for 2011 and 2012. I’m very thankful for my readers who made all this possible. Intrigue is a wonderful line to write for and I truly enjoy writing for them. Intrigues are the perfect mix of romance and fast-paced action, with the absolute best alpha male heroes. What’s not to love?

3. Exactly! That’s why I love your writing! Congratulations on so many achievements! What are your future writing goals? Do you want to continue writing romantic suspense with Harlequin Intrigue or do you have any plans to venture out?

I’m going to write Intrigues as long as there are readers out there willing to read my stories. From time to time, I do have other ideas. Sometimes I write one of those and post it as a freebie to my web site. I’d love to make every book better than the one before. I constantly challenge myself and try to do that. Romance readers are very intelligent and discerning, and deserve the best books I’m capable of.

4. Spoken like a true professional! I was amazed to read that you don’t have an agent. Wow. Kudos to you for taking your career all the way on your own! Are you currently looking for an agent? Do you plan to find one in the future?

I would most definitely try to find an agent if I ever branched out. For now, I have an amazing relationship with my editor who is an angel. We work in partnership, and I feel that between the two of us we can solve most problems that might come up.

5. It’s so wonderful you have such a wonderful working relationship with your editor. Let’s look back just a minute. Before becoming an author, you worked in the corporate world, correct? What made you take that first leap of faith and walk away from your steady job to begin an unsure future in writing?

The company closed the office where I worked, and I thought this was the perfect opportunity for me to make the switch. The last Friday of 2002 was my last day at the office. Monday morning I sat down at 8 a.m. at the home computer and stayed there, writing until 5 p.m., just as if I was still at work. I did that every single day since. Being able to focus on my writing 100% made all the difference. My first book sold 8 months after I was laid off, and I sold several other books in quick succession. I learned that when something ends, it means that room is made for something new and better. Instead of regrets and worries, I must use my energy to find that new thing and pursue it with all my heart.

6. I love that attitude! What’s the most rewarding part of writing for you?

The absolute best part of the job is hearing from readers. I’ve met some wonderful people through my writing. Knowing that my books entertain others is the most rewarding aspect of writing.

7. Well, let me say again that I love your writing. My favorite book I’ve read by you is CAMOUFLAGE HEART. It’s on my keeper shelf. πŸ™‚ So, what part of your career or your life as a whole are you the most proud of at this point?

Outside of work, I’m most proud of my wonderful family who gave up a lot for my career (like clean clothes and warm dinners) and supported me wholeheartedly through the years when I barely made enough to buy paper for the printer. As far as my career goes, I’m very proud that TALL, DARK AND LETHAL was a Rita Finalist last year.

8. Whoohoo to being a RITA finalist! That’s quite an achievement! Now, for fun, if someone wrote a biography about you, what would the title be?

How about: SHORT, BLONDE AND CRAZY BUSY? LOL

9. Good one! Did you receive any personality awards in high school? Were you voted Most Likely to Succeed? If you didn’t receive any, which award would have fit you most at that time?

Probably Most Quiet in Class. πŸ™‚ I was painfully shy. Mostly, you would find me reading. I miss the sports gene completely. The music gene, too. πŸ™‚

10. Shy? That surprises me. Who are some of your favorite authors?

Too many to name. Right now I’m reading Susan Mallery’s latest, THE BEST OF FRIENDS, and loving it. She is an amazing writer I hope to learn from.

11. The holidays are just around the corner. What’s on your Christmas list this year? Do you have any unique traditions for your household?

The top item on my Christmas list is rest. I’m finishing a book right now and rushing to be done before Christmas so I won’t have to work through the holidays. We are also planning a family Christmas trip to Austria. I’m very excited about that. It’ll probably turn up in a future book.

12. That’s wonderful. What’s your newest release or upcoming release?

My latest release is THE SPY WHO SAVED CHRISTMAS, a romantic thriller about a biker baker who is an undercover agent and a butcher babe who is THE woman from his past.

13. Thank you so much for taking the time to do this interview, Dana. Do you have a message you would like to share with readers?

Thank you for the interview, Destiny! BTW, can I just say how much I love your web site? Good luck with ALTERED BEGINNINGS! I just added it to my reading list.

Well, you just made me one very excited and nervous lady! Be sure to tell me what you think of it…but only if you love it! Just kidding, just kidding. *Chuckling*

And I would like to thank readers for supporting us writers and making our books possible. I appreciate every one of my readers more than I can ever say. Happy Holidays!

14. Where can we find you? Do you have any links where readers can connect with you?

I would love to hear from readers! Please find me online at:

www.danamarton.com
www.facebook.com/DanaMarton
http://twitter.com/danamarton

Dana, thanks again for coming by! I’ve enjoyed this so much! Have a wonderful holiday season!

Published in: on December 10, 2010 at 8:00 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2010/12/10/say-hi-to-harlequin-intrigue-author-dana-marton/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Submitted by Rita: Nice article. Since she didn’t have an agent, it would be nice to know if she was published through simple submission or whether she went to conferences and met editors or what. I am always interested in knowing how someone gets discovered. Great interview.

    Love and blessings and Merry Christmas

    • Merry Christmas to you, too, Rita!

  2. Destiny–Thank you so much for featuring me on your wonderful blog! It’s an honor.

    Rita–My 1st book was bought through the good old slush pile. So it does happen!

    • Yay to getting noticed in that slush pile! The honor is definitely all mine, Dana. Thanks for coming by!

  3. Hi to Dana, and congrats on being published through Harlequin!

  4. What a fascinating interview about a fascinating author! Thank you for sharing…

    • Miss Mae, Carol Ann – Thanks so much for commenting!


Leave a Reply

