Do you have a list?

Toby Keith sings a country song called “My List” that talks
about a man making a list of the things he needs to do. The list begins with
the typical household chores we all have to get done, and then the list turns
into recreational time and family time and having fun. The last line of the
chorus is “Start livin’, that’s the next thing on my list.” Isn’t it terrible
that we have to add “living” to our to-do list?

 

The first day of summer was June 21 – the longest day of the
year. From there, the daylight hours slowly begin to shorten little by little
until Fall, and finally Winter, so now is the time to slow things down a bit,
to make time for “living.” I’m not talking about just a vacation. I’m talking
about changing the rhythm and pace of things in order to take notice of what’s
going on around you.

 

I took notice of some things around me. If you happen to drive through Troutville, VA on Lee Highway over
the weekend, take a glance at the Thriftway store in downtown. Every Sunday, there is a
quote or Bible verse or words of wisdom out on a billboard sign in front of
that store that is truly inspirational. I’ve noticed now that I look forward to
seeing what will be written there every weekend.

 

Travelers through Buchanan, VA might notice a man riding around
the streets on a mechanical wheelchair. He has a large reflective street sign
attached to the back of his chair. He lives near me, and every time I see him
drive that chair down to Main
Street, I get terrified for him. I worry that he
always seems to be alone. I worry about the traffic on the road around him. I
worry he might have needs that compel him to drive that chair on the road. Mostly
though, I feel in awe that someone has such a spirit that they will not be
confined. I wonder about that man, and I wonder how many people actually stop
to notice him. I try to smile and wave whenever he and I pass each other. I
hope he smiles in return. I hope if he needs something, I have the time to
notice.

 

He isn’t the only neighbor around me that I don’t know and
I’m not really sure why. I think I like all my neighbors, but still, there is a
quote by Abraham Lincoln that might best describe why we must stop and take a
look around. “I don’t like that man. I must get to know him better.”

 

Lincoln’s
point is pretty clear. I don’t usually want to get to know people I don’t like.
Obviously, I haven’t even taken the time to get to know many of the people I
think I do like, but I wonder sometimes about what might happen if I did get to
know someone I don’t like better. Would my opinion of that person change? Maybe
we all need to take the time to get to know someone better.

 

Fourth of July is just around the corner. Don’t miss seeing
the fireworks this year.

Published in: on June 25, 2010 at 7:05 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2010/06/25/do-you-have-a-list/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

