Welcome Bestselling Author Erica Spindler!

Welcome NY Times and International Bestselling
Thriller Author Erica Spindler! Erica’s titles include Breakneck, Last Known Victim,
Copycat and her most recent release,
Blood Vines. I’m such a fan of her
work and I’m so proud to have her visit my blog!

 

Destiny:

Let’s get right to business. Who is the real Erica? Please give
us a short description of yourself without using the word writer, or any
variation of that term.

 

Erica:

I
love espresso, old vine Zinfandels, and American Idol; make a great Goulash,
buy organic, and teach Sunday school. On the surface, my days may look somewhat
like those of a cliché suburban housewife and mom- Pilates, pedicures,
shopping- until you read what’s on the laptop I always have in tow.

 

Destiny:

Name three things that it would surprise readers to know about
you.

 

Erica:

1- 
It may sound crazy, but I find it easier to focus out in the world than in the
solitude of my office. I enjoy writing away from my office and frequent a
number of coffeehouses. 

2- I have some very “girly
girl” tendencies.

3- I bring my reusable
shopping bags everywhere, even clothing stores.

 

Destiny:

I read on your bio that you actually went to school and planned
a career as an artist. That completely took me by surprise. Please describe
your mindset as you made the decision to shift your ambitions. Did you struggle
with the decision? Were your family and friends supportive?

 

Erica:

I’d
planned on being an artist and university art instructor. I studied and planned
for that career, had earned a MFA at the University of New Orleans and secured
a teaching job at a local university when I was bitten with the writing bug.

 

I
came down with a summer cold and had stopped at a local drugstore for cold
tablets and tissues.  A free category novel was dropped into my shopping
bag- a Nora Roberts romance.  I’d always been a voracious reader, but had
never read a category romance.  Well, I read that one and became addicted
to them!  For the next six months I read as many as I could get my hands
on.  Sometime during that reading frenzy, I decided I wanted to try my
hand at writing one.

 

I
loved teaching, but as soon as I sat down to write, I knew it was what I truly
wanted to do.  I quit after I sold my third novel and had my first
child.  Something had to go and it wasn’t going to be the baby or the
books!

 

My
family and friends were supportive- to a point.  Truthfully, they thought
I’d gone a little crazy.

 

Destiny:

Do you still do any art? Is that a hobby for you?

 

Erica:

I
recently surprised myself by picking it up again.  And yes, definitely
only as a hobby!

 

Destiny:

I’m such a huge fan of your work. In my mind, you were obviously
meant to be a writer. Did it feel that way for you at the beginning? Was your
journey to publication a smooth one?

 

Erica:

I
knew the moment I started that I’d found my true calling. But few roads to
publication are smooth- my certainly wasn’t.  The rejections from
publishers and agents rolled in and it took all my determination to stick it
out.  I knew what I wanted to do and that it wouldn’t happen if I
quit.  It took three years and three manuscripts before I made that first
sale.

 

And
thanks for being a fan– I really appreciate it!

 

Destiny:

Erica, you have such an impressive writing career. What life
accomplishment means the most to you at this point? What are you proudest of?

 

Erica:

Knowing
that what I do brings so many people pleasure is the most rewarding aspect of my
career.  In life, I am proudest of my family.  

 

Destiny:

Looking back over your resume, what is your biggest regret
concerning your career? Is there anything you would change if you could?

 

Erica:

I
have no regrets. I’ve made some bad decisions along the way- both creatively
and business oriented- but it’s all part of the journey.

 

Destiny

What do you see as your biggest challenge as an author? What
part of writing do you love the most?

 

Erica:

The
biggest challenge is keeping it fresh and keeping my focus on the creative
work, not the business of writing.

 

I
love so much about being a writer! But the very best, I suppose, is being able
to use my creativity in a way that brings others enjoyment– and feeds my
family.

 

Destiny:

Now, do you see your dreams as fulfilled? Have you succeeded
with all your career goals?

 

Erica:

Never
in my wildest dreams did I see myself as an author, and to have achieved the
success I have is very fulfilling. However, I never want to stop writing and
hope to continue to build my readership and climb some charts. (And a movie or
HBO deal would be really, really nice!)

 

Destiny:

One of the general principles of writing is to "write what
you know." Have you followed that guideline? If so, how?

 

Erica:

It’s
especially important for the beginning writer, who is struggling with the rest
of the learning curve. I took that advice: my first published novel involved
the advertising industry- my husband’s profession.  Another reason for the
advice is that authentic detail is absolutely essential in fiction. What better
way to impart that than with firsthand knowledge?  It’s why many of my
novels are set in New Orleans- I’ve lived here for over 20 years, know– and
love– it so well.

 

Destiny:
Do you get to read as much as you write? Who are you favorite authors? What are
you reading now?

 

Erica:

Between
my own writing and my family, I don’t have as much time for reading as I’d
like.  Some recent indulgences of mine have been Charlaine Harris’
Southern Vampire series and Janet Evanovich’s latest Stephanie Plum novel.

 

Destiny:

Is there anything I should ask you that I haven’t?

 

Erica:

The
most-asked question I get from fans is “Can you write faster?”  I wish I
could!  BLOOD VINES just released this March and I can assure them I’m
making great progress on another thriller (ON THE EDGE) to be released next
Spring.

 

Destiny:

Do you have a message you would like to send to your readers?

 

Erica:

I love hearing from them- by an
email at www.ericaspindler.com or on Twitter or Facebook.

 

Erica’s most recent
release is Blood Vines.
When
an infant’s remains are unearthed in the idyllic wine region of Sonoma, a
Pandora’s box is opened, and pieces of Alex Owen’s life begin fitting together
at last.


Published in: on April 23, 2010 at 11:24 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2010/04/23/welcome-bestselling-author-erica-spindler/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

