Feelings Come and Go

I’ve started a new lesson with my son. Just because he feels a certain way, doesn’t mean he has to act a certain way. If he’s angry, may he throw a temper tantrum? No. If he’s bored, may he ignore his teacher? Absolutely not.

He can choose to do what is right even if he doesn’t feel like it.

This is a lesson I need to hear as well. Raising my son has made me want to be the best kind of person I can be. To do that, I have to be in control of my emotions, right?

That doesn’t mean I’ll stop having them. What I think it means is that I won’t let them control me. I want to do the right thing. Feelings come and go. Decisions, on the other hand, can have consequences that last forever. Do I want to make choices based on a flighty feeling? I think not.

Let’s choose how we want to act based on truths and facts, not feelings. Let’s choose to do what is right. Let’s make that choice every single day.

Published in: on March 30, 2010 at 7:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2010/03/30/feelings-come-and-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

