Do you keep a journal?

"The palest ink is better than the best memory." – Chinese Proverb

Have you ever said to yourself, "This is a great memory. I’ll never forget it."

I’ve said it many different times in my life. But, I’ve noticed that I HAVE forgotten things, important things, wonderful things, momentous occasions that I swore to remember always. Somehow, I’ve lost so many memories that I wanted to keep. I didn’t even realize it had happened.

I grew up at a campground. During that time, I met so many different and wonderful people. Most of them I can’t remember anymore. Isn’t that sad?

I remember once when I was in high school, I found a note in my locker that said someone had a crush on me, that I was beautiful…or something like that. It was signed by a secret admirer. I felt embarrassed at the time. I was certain that the note was put in the wrong locker, so I threw it away. Now, I really wish I could remember what the letter said. I simply can’t recall anymore.

My husband proposed on top of a mountain in a special place that we considered as ours. It was so romantic. Now, I can’t remember his exact words that day. I really wish I could.

So…I’ve decided that I need to start keeping a journal. Not as a diary. Not as a gripe book for all the wrongs in the world. I need it for my memories, so I CAN’T let the important things slip my mind and slip away. Know what I mean?

Does anyone else keep a journal?

Published in: on December 16, 2009 at 4:29 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2009/12/16/do-you-keep-a-journal/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

