I am in awe of good speakers

While cooking dinner yesterday, I was listening to Oprah. She was doing a show about heroes that had me wiping away tears about every ten minutes. It was a truly beautiful show.

What I noticed, listening to the show was how well some of the stories were told by the survivors. Then, I realized that I felt envious. I love to hear a well spoken person talk. I just wish that it was I that could do it!

One particular guy on the show expressed heart felt gratitude to his hero in a way that was so eloquent and beautiful, yet it didn’t sound rehearsed at all. He spoke in front of Oprah’s audience and in front of a camera with a calmness that I just didn’t understand. How did he do that?

When I write, I don’t think about it. I guess it’s the same way with people that have the gift of speech. For me, when I get in front of people to talk, I sound like a blubbering idiot. Almost always, like nine times out of ten, I just won’t be able to form any sentence structure beyond that of a nine year old. It can get embarrassing.

So, as I’m thinking how jealous I am of this beautiful talker on the Oprah show, I immediately realize how stupid I’m being. I don’t want to be the kind of person that always wants what someone else has. I want to be the kind of person that appreciates the strengths of others and honors others for their accomplishments without any negativity at all.

I think I can do that. This Thanksgiving, I am thankful for the gifts that I have. I’m going to make it a point to be especially thankful for the gifts and blessings of those around me, too.

Published in: on November 25, 2009 at 12:57 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2009/11/25/i-am-in-awe-of-good-speakers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

