Ties with My Father

In honor of Father’s Day, here are a couple of jokes. One
evening, while sitting around the dinner table, a little girl looked up and
asked her father, “Daddy, you’re the boss, right?” Her father was very pleased
by this and replied, “Yes.” Then, the little girl continued, “That’s because
mommy put you in charge, right?”

 

“Daddy, daddy, can I have another glass of water?” a child
asked. “But I’ve already given you ten!” said a father. “I know, but the
bedroom is still on fire!” (These jokes are copyrights of
http://www.ILoveMyPop.com.)

 

I grew up watching Bill Cosby, one of the greatest dads on
TV in my opinion. Laughing at sitcoms was one of the ways my dad and I
connected to one another, maybe even the most important way. After all, what
scenario didn’t come up on the Cosby show?

 

The television bonding must have worked because somewhere in
my teen years, right smack dab in that awkward and independent stage where
parents know nothing, my dad did something that won my respect. I still
remember the event clearly to this day.

 

It was during one of the Fourth of July parades. The
carnival was in town. The traffic on Main
Street in Buchanan was bumper to bumper in both
directions. With a typical teenage attitude, I sat slumped, arms crossed,
staring out the truck window, not paying much attention, annoyed that we were
stuck in traffic, moving along at a snail’s pace. Suddenly, my dad stopped the
truck in the middle of the road. His driver’s door stood wide open as he
blocked both lanes of traffic to walk up to an elderly lady standing on the
sidewalk. She was trying to cross to the opposite side of the street. My dad
took her elbow and guided her across the road.

 

I was shocked – not that he helped a senior, but that I
hadn’t even noticed the woman and I wasn’t sure I would have thought to help
her if I had noticed. I was a teen and I thought I knew everything, yet here
was an epiphany that – oh my gosh – I was self-absorbed.

 

My father’s actions that day filled me with pride and love.
Maybe my dad still had a few things he could teach me. More surprising, maybe I
wanted to learn though I never admitted as much, nor did I admit how he
affected me that day. I wouldn’t dare, not as a teenager!

 

Happy Father’s Day! Share a laugh.

Published in: on June 18, 2009 at 3:37 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2009/06/18/ties-with-my-father/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautifully written…

  2. I loved this. thanks for sharing. Hugs, Pat

  3. How wonderful for you to have such a loving and aware dad. My dad continued to teach me lessons, without even knowing it right up until the actual day he died in 2007. As much as I miss him and would appreciate his advise from time to time, all I have to do is remain still in prayer and his advise comes to me loud and clear. We were just always that connected. Thank you so very much for sharing this. It is truly priceless.


Leave a Reply

