A few stories about “fools”

A smile is a curve that sets everything straight.  – Phillis Diller

 

In the spirit of April and April Fool’s Day, here are a few stories with a “fool”. I hope these memories produce a bright smile. I know I laugh when I think of them.

 

  • The first time I heard my dad say that he needed to rotate the tires on his truck, I was very confused. I thought he was going to jack the car up and spin all four tires round and round, which is exactly what it did on the pavement anyway! I was so embarrassed when I realized what he really meant about rotating the tires.

 

  • I grew up at a campground. One time, we had a customer that paid for a tent site for a weekend, only to return shortly later and ask where the tent was supposed to be. My parents felt so sorry for the customer that they ended up loaning him our tent.

 

  • I was approximately six years old when I realized how terrified of heights I am. My two cousins and I decided to climb a steep hill near my house. My memory archives that hill under the category of Mt. Everest, but it really was just a hill. A few feet up, I froze with such drama that I scared the “bejeebers” out of my cousins. One boy went to get my dad while the other held me in place so I wouldn’t plummet the few feet below me to my death. They were my heroes.

 

  • Growing up on a campground was similar to growing up on a farm. My two brothers and I were expected to work. I stayed busy and I rarely dated all throughout high school. One year at the Buchanan Carnival, my aunt introduced me to a boy she just knew would be my match. I was so shy. I said hello, told him to call me and disappeared into the crowd. The next day, he showed up at my house. I was horrified. My first thought was “stalker”. I said call, not show up.  So, I did what any smart girl would do. I went inside my house and hid and begged my best friend to go out there and tell him I wasn’t home. I thought my family would pee their pants laughing at me. One year later, I started dating that boy. Today, we’ve been married for almost six years.

 

Keep smiling!

Published in: on April 1, 2009 at 12:50 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2009/04/01/a-few-stories-about-fools/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

