Welcome my guest for today – Author Keta Diablo!

Special Guest Author Keta Diablo writes erotic historical romance and erotic fantasy. Though I have not personally read Keta’s work, I want to support her as a fellow writer and as a wonderful online friend. Please, accompany me to welcome Keta as my guest.
 
Welcome, Keta!
 
 

First of all, Destiny, thank you so much for featuring me on your blog. I appreciate it.

 

Destiny: How long have you been writing and how did your career begin?

 

Keta: I’ve always written in one form or another. It began with writing family history stories and grew from there. I love historical stories and became so fascinated with the lives of our ancestors and the hardships and joys they endured, that it seemed natural to evolve into fictional characters and stories.

 

Destiny: What obstacles have you had to overcome to fulfill a desire to write?

 

Keta: Learning the craft itself. I was so naïve, like many people who say, “Hey, I’m going to write a book.” There is so much more to it than just sitting down and writing about people and places. Writing is an ongoing learning experience, and I’m not sure we ever become experts of the trade. I’m still learning every day. There are basic rules you should learn and follow, for instance, sentence structure, POV (point of view), what dangling modifiers are. The list could go on and on. That’s not to say you must adhere strictly to every rule, but you should have a good sense of when you can break it and why.

Destiny: What draws you to write in both genres of Erotic Fantasy Romance and Erotic Historical Romance?

 

Keta: I’m partial to historical (see above about family stories) and I’m most comfortable writing in this genre. I’ve written one fantasy/time travel, Dust and Moonlight released by Siren Publishing in December. Some fellow authors asked me to partner with them in an anthology. I reminded them I’d never written fantasy before, but they challenged me. Not one to pass up a dare, I said I’d give it a shot. The pre-reviews for Dust and Moonlight came back very positive so I opted out of the anthology and they found a replacement. Then, I lengthened it to a full novel and was fortunate to receive a contract with Siren.

 

Destiny: Is there a common appeal to both, because each genre seems very different, or is it the differences that you like?

 

Keta: I do like the difference. In fantasy you have the ability to create your own world and have much more leeway with readers. They’ll forgive more because after all, who’s to say it couldn’t happen that way. With a historical, you have to be very accurate. Readers are very astute and if you make a mistake on clothing or dates, they’ll call you on it. I’m a history buff, everything Civil War and American history, so I’m comfortable writing in that genre.

Destiny: What research methods do you use to write a historical romance?

 

Keta: Well, I have a massive shelf of history books, every subject. I use the library a lot and do some on-line research. That’s the problem – once I get on-line and start snooping around, I soon have twelve windows open and I forget what I started out looking for. I get so into the research, I’m soon lost in cyberspace when I should be writing.

Destiny: What’s your personal writing routine?

 

Keta: I think some people believe authors drive around in fancy cars and eat bonbons all day. That couldn’t be further from the truth for me. Most days, you’ll find me at the computer in a worn out t-shirt and faded jeans. There’s a fat kitty sitting by my computer mouse (she’s fascinated with it) and a big old dog at my feet. I often write late into the night because that’s when my muse is at her best.

Destiny: What writers would you say influenced your work the most?

 

Keta: I’m rather unconventional in this regard. I absolutely fell in love with a book called Windflower years ago and have read it so many times, the books is in tatters. A husband and wife team wrote the book and never have I been so drawn in. Literally, there have been so many times that late at night while reading it, I would laugh out loud. I received some very strange looks from my Sheltie, but I didn’t care. I loved their prose, their descriptive writing. I highly recommend this book. I love Sherry Thomas’ writing. Private Arrangements is an awesome book and I read some of Pam Rosenthal too.


Destiny: What do you feel are your writing strengths and weaknesses? What about specifically relating to sex scenes?

 

Keta: I love dangling modifiers. For those who don’t know what that is, it’s sort of like throwing the cow over the fence before you throw the milk. I have to really watch for this, as my editors have pointed out numerous times. I’m good at point of view and I don’t usually beat around the bush. I suppose I’m a plain writer, but this works for me. Say what you mean and mean what you say.

 

Sex scenes: These don’t bother me as long as my mother isn’t standing over my shoulder (lol).

Destiny: Do you have support in your writing?

Keta: Much support, my mom, my children. If anyone says you can’t write a book, then ditch them. Family included. Anyone can write if their willing to study, read voraciously and open your mind to learning.


Destiny: Where did your most recent book idea and characters come from?

 

Keta: I think the story behind Land of Falling Stars is quite interesting and the book is doing very well at Ravenous Romance. On one of my many forays into cyberspace, I came across this story about cousins who fought on opposite sides in the Civil War and what tragedy it brought to their families. That got me thinking . . . what if two men who loved the same woman fought on opposite sides, what if one shot the other accidentally on the battlefield, what if one was left to break the news to the heroine. Well, you can see where this is going. Thus, Land of Falling Stars was born.

Destiny: How do you personally define true love?

 

Keta: Like this:  “Is it your face that adorns this garden? Is it your fragrance that intoxicates this garden? It is your spirit that has made this brook a river of wine? ~ Rumi ~

 

Destiny: What kind of man would be your ideal?

Keta: He must have the ability to laugh at himself. He would be magnificently handsome and have the ability to slay a dragon, but when he falls off his horse or stares into the face of death . . . he laughs.


Destiny: What did you do for Valentine’s Day this year?

Keta: Not telling . . . but see Chapter Seven in Decadent Deceptions.

 

Destiny: What is the most important thing for fans to know about you?

 

Keta: That I’m a sucker for animals and children. I spend too many hours at the local animal shelter wondering how many more I can save. My family tells me if I don’t stop bringing them home, I’ll have to get a real job. “What?” I say. “I have a real job, don’t I?”

Destiny: List five things that would surprise people to know about you.

 

Keta: I detest abuse in any form.  I have very little tolerance for the word “can’t”. I have little patience with pessimistic people. I hug my children every day I see them although they’re grown. I’m happiest among animals, flowers and when I;m writing.

Destiny: If you had one piece of advice for other writers, what would it be?

 

Keta: Patience, perseverance and politeness. Without those three, you won’t survive in this arena.

 

Destiny: Do you have a message you would like to pass along to readers?

Keta: You can be the best writer in the world, but without readers’ support, it wouldn’t matter. Nothing makes me happier than when a reader e-mails me and tells me she/he loved my book. If I can transport them to another world even for a little while, I’ve done my job.

 

 

Thank you so much for visiting my blog, Keta! Take a look at one of Keta’s releases, Decadent Deceptions:

decadentdeceptionsclear.jpg

Decadent Deceptions, Noble Romance

Author Keta Diablo http://www.ketadiablo.com

Erotica/historical, Special Content: Explicit sex and voyeurism

Buy link: http://www.nobleromance.com/ItemDisplay.aspx?i=20

Decadent Deceptions – a 2008 Molly Contest finalist in the erotica category.

 

BLURB:

 

Daring and desperate to win Morgan’s love, Olivia Breedlove embarks on a reckless folly. But everything backfires when Morgan remains one step ahead of her and the game ventures down a path of duplicity and murder.

A decade ago, Morgan was a heartbeat away from taking Olivia’s virginity. Her father, Thaddeus, intervened and threatened to meet him over pistols if he so much as looked at his daughter again. But now, Thaddeus is dead and Morgan has no intention of ignoring the ravenous hunger he’s harbored for the blasted woman for ten years. One way or the other, he will quench this burning desire and make her his forever.

Published in: on March 2, 2009 at 1:23 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://destinybooze.wordpress.com/2009/03/02/welcome-my-guest-for-today-author-keta-diablo/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thank you so much for coming by, Keta!


Leave a Reply

